Garden – 2011 Recap

Posted: January 23, 2012 in Uncategorized
2011 Garden

Last Year's Garden

Problem: Didn’t plant early enough for most plants and didn’t research how big they were going to grow.  Also, bought all my plants on an impulse purchase.

Solution:

Research plants better and plant them earlier.  Do not impulse purchase plants.  Retry plant list from last year, keep a garden journal, only add a few new plants to try this year.

Last year I waited until almost July to plant.  I planted tomatoes, peppers, a salad mix, and sweet potatoes.  My tomatoes didn’t produce until right before the first frost and didn’t get a chance to ripen at all.  I did get a few jalapeno peppers, but not enough to do anything with.  My sweet potatoes on the other hand grew splendidly and I got a some potatoes, some which were over 1.5 lbs. and very good eating.  Unfortunately I did not do my research last year and found that I should have gotten only one sweet potato plant, as four plants potentially would cover 80 square feet if allowed.  My whole garden space is only 100 feet square.

Comments
  1. Santos Standre says:

    A small vegetable garden in your own backyard can bring you many benefits. Not only will you realize the creative benefits of gardening, you will grow fresh produce for your family and the local food pantry. Gardening can be a family affair with your children acquiring gardening skills that can be passed on to their own children.

    • fgwadmin says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I totally agree with you. Gardening has a lot of benefits. It can lower stress, provide you with food, and give a sense of pride and value to the food you eat. Personally, I like to garden just to see what I can get mygarden to produce and hopefully produce enough so that I can share with my friends and neighbors.

Leave a Reply

