Comfy Slippers

Posted: January 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

For Christmas, my mother-in-law (future) gave me two pairs of slippers that she made herself out of a heavy-weight yarn.  While very comfy and warm I had a couple of problems brewing in the background.

Problem:

  1. A previous pair of slippers she made me were ruined by use.
  •  Particularly in my previous house, we had no flooring and it was just plywood sub-floor.  So as I walked around wearing the slippers they would pick up little bits of flooring and eventually become full of splinters.  It actually got the point that I could no longer wear them and I felt terrible because they were made for me and I ruined them within less than a year.

Solution:

  1. I attached recycled leather (from an old leather jacket) and stitched on soles for the bottom of the slippers.  I used a decorative stitch, but one that is easily removed so that I could replace the soles as needed.

Now I have a nice pair of slippers that I don’t have to worry about wearing out quite so soon.  As a bonus, I was able to do the same to the second pair and gave them to my mom for her birthday.

Comments
  1. Am I Slipping? « Lunki and Sika – Movie, TV, Celebrity and Entertainment News. And Other Silliness. says:

    […] Comfy Slippers (fullgamutworkshop.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

