How to Compost in 5 Easy Steps

Posted: February 2, 2012 in Available on Etsy Now
  1. Find a location for your compost pile.
  2. Put all your compostables in an old coffee can and stick in the freezer until full.
  3. Empty coffee compost can into compost area.  Top with 3 coffee cans of shredded paper.
  4. Add about 1 to 1-1/2 coffee cans of water to freshly dumped paper. (need to make sure compost pile is damp but not wet. – like a wrung out sponge)
  5. Stir and chop compost once a day topping with loose soil.

Ok here’s what I did last year and it worked beautifully.

I kept all my compost materials in a coffee can with a lid in the freezer (so I wouldn’t have the smell).  When I was ready to dump the compost I would take it out of the freezer at least 30 minutes before, to allow it to defrost a bit.  If you don’t, you might find it kind of hard to dump out the solid mass of kitchen waste.

I obtained a heavy-duty cross-cut shredder with a pull out basket and all of my junk mail got shredded (I didn’t have to bother opening most of it).  When the shredder got full I would dump it into a large trash can (35-55 gallon) with a lid.  I didn’t want to store all the shredded stuff in the house so I tucked it in the back yard close to the garden.

Every time I dump the table scraps from the house I also make sure I dump 3 coffee cans of shredded paper on top.  As long as you keep the ratio roughly 1:3 you will be fine.  I also mix and chop up all the goodies in the compost area and mix the new stuff in really good.  Don’t forget to mix in some soil too.  The point is to churn everything up really good because the bacteria and microbes that decompose the kitchen waste need oxygen just as much as we do!

When I’m done getting air to everything, I then moisten the whole pile with 1 to 2 coffee cans of water and stir it up (microbes like a warm, moist environment, but be cautious with your water because the microbes can drown too.  You keep them happy they work harder.)

I go out every other day and stir things up just to make sure there is enough air.  If the pile seems a bit dry, I add a little more water to it to keep it moist.  Make sure you keep the whole pile mounded a bit, so excess rainwater will drain off, you don’t want a soggy mess.

Comments
  1. Taneka Fukuroku says:

    What i do not realize is if truth be told how you’re now not really much more well-liked than you might be now. You’re so intelligent. You realize therefore considerably with regards to this subject, made me personally believe it from so many varied angles. Its like women and men are not fascinated until it’s one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs nice. At all times deal with it up!

  2. Akiko Gollier says:

    Sweet site, super layout, really clean and use friendly.

  3. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He used to be entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not believe simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  4. bean bag chair filler says:

    Hello ! I saw your weblog and I really like it…the design is quite very good.Did you do it yourself or utilised a template? ( i searched on internet and i saw there are actually numerous for wordpress) I do not have yet a domain but I’ll invest in a single so i can blog myself too.Anyway good information and fantastic web-site…btw I hope Very good luck

    • deltahellm says:

      Hi! I did use a premade template provided through wordpress. The template I used is called Greyzed by The Forge Web Creations. There are quite a few templates available through WordPress if you take some time and look through them all.

  5. Recent Blogroll Additions……

    […]usually posts some very interesting stuff like this. If you’re new to this site[…]……

  6. Celine Drape says:

    Real excellent information can be found on site.

  7. cheap bean bag chairs says:

    I’m getting a tough time acquiring the best theme, absolutely free or paid, for my website. So I’m curious to know what themes are you currently utilizing .Thanks in advance

    • deltahellm says:

      What kind of theme are you looking for? Your theme should be a reflection of you and your business.

    • fgwadmin says:

      Currently I am using Greyzed on this site, but if you check out my sister sites, there are some alternate themes. Perhaps what you could do is have a nice banner made. I made the banner image for the Stationary Observer. Go check it out under the links on the left side of the page.

  8. Zeek Rewards says:

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  9. Hackettstown Scholarships For Minorities says:

    Scholarships For Minorities…

    […]listed here are several urls to websites online which we connect to seeing as we believe they will be worthwhile visiting[…]…

Leave a Reply

