Garden Experiment – 2013 – Part 1

Posted: April 18, 2013 in Available on Etsy Now
Tags: ,

Carrots of many colors.

Last Year’s Recap

Ok, if you read my post last year on my garden I hope you were excited as I was.  As a recap, here’s what my 2012 gardening experiment helped me discover last year:

  1. I actually planted quite a few cherry tomatoes, they grew fast and I got a nice treat as I walked through the garden picking ripe tomatoes off as I worked around the garden.  I also discovered, when I hoed the garden for weeds, that if I pulled the dirt up around the plant and buried the stem a bit with dirt the plant would start growing roots higher up and make the plant more stable before and after staking it.
  2. I wound up not planting potatoes like planned, but I tried 2 varieties of squash, which got too much heat and not enough water when we went on vacation last year.
  3. It was too hot for onions last year, but I did plant 3 different kinds:  red, white, and yellow.
  4. I also planted:  beets, carrots, and corn.   The beets and carrots turned out pretty good, I didn’t have enough carrots at any one time, so I would add them to spaghetti sauce as I got enough veggies.

All in all, I consider my experiment a success.  I was able to donate about 3 dozen tomato seedlings to a local church.  I also made about 8 quarts of homemade spaghetti sauce, and I got a nice tan working in the garden.

Problem:

  • For my 2013 Gardening Experiment I am still working under the same conditions as last year.
  • Limited space (only 100 square feet.)  I can’t plant more than I can take care of (including preservation), and no waste.

This year, I made up the following list of things others grow:

  •  tomatoes – in the house
  • cucumbers – on a trellis in the garden
  • sweet peppers – in the garden
  • pole beans – on a trellis in the garden
  • carrots – going to broad-cast them out in the garden
  • summer squash – in the garden
  • onions – in the garden – already planted – left over from last year.
  • hot peppers in the garden – fewer this year
  • lettuce – broad-casted in the garden
  • peas – trellis in the garden
  • sweet corn – in the garden
  • radishes – in the garden
  • potatoes – in the garden
  • salad greens – in the garden
  • pumpkins – trellis in garden
  • watermelons – trellis in the garden
  • spinach – in garden
  • broccoli – in garden
  • melons – trellis in garden
  • cabbage – in garden
  • beets – broad-cast in garden
  • winter squash – in garden
  • asparagus – raised bed in garden
  • collards – in garden
  • celery – in garden
  • Brussels sprouts – in garden
  • leeks – in garden
  • kale – in garden
  • parsnips – in garden
  • Chinese cabbage – in garden
  • rutabagas – in garden

Solution:

In the previous list I highlighted (in blue), the plants I am going to get into the garden this year.  Since I have told myself that I am going to try and only add 2 new plants every year to the garden I am going to attempt the same list  as last year, because while I was content with what I accomplished last year, it was really too hot and about halfway through the season the garden dried up while I was on vacation.

I have high hopes this year for growing things, as we have already had several rain showers so far this year.

Check back for part 2 on the garden.

As always: comment, like, and share!

Comments
  1. […] Garden Experiment – 2013 – Part 1 […]

  2. Www.Aprelium.com says:

    I blog frequently and I really thank you for your information.
    This great article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once per week. I opted in for your Feed as well.

  3. farberware percolator parts says:

    Hi there to every one, the contents present at this website
    are actually awesome for people knowledge, well, keep up
    the nice work fellows.

  4. Aw, this was an extremely good post. Spending some time and actual effort to make a good article…
    but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never
    seem to get anything done.

    • fgwadmin says:

      Thanks for your comment… I think? I did stop by the link you have attached (I usually try to visit sites from people who comment right away), and I think you have a lot of really good information about a lot of different things in your post. I really like your idea for removing the center of leafy greens to make them a little more palatable, I never thought to do that. Go figure I come from a farming family and when it comes to greens I eat like the cows… chew, chew, chew. LOL! Keep your chin up about your gardening, all it takes is some dirt, seeds, water and Southern facing window. As long as you have all that you’ll have a window garden in no time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

